Day 20→ Gratitude: Bugs in my face

We’ve been contemplating for a while. We’ve been talking about it a lot. My husband has been strongly encouraging it. A new bike for me. When the pandemic first hit, we snagged an overpriced one on Offer Up and made it work. It’s a little heavy and a little small for me.

Around 2:30pm the boys woke up from their naps. “You ready to go do this?” my husband asked. He had already called. The bike was in stock. We knew what size and model we were thinking. They could put it together within the hour and have it ready for me before they closed at 4pm. 

I grabbed my helmet and phone case, and we loaded up. We don’t have a hitch (yet) and the bike won’t fit in the back with the car seats and the boys in the back seat.  So, I would be riding the bike home! I was anxious the whole way there. It was a big decision. It was easily the nicest thing we have ever bought for me. 

On the way there, Charlie pointed out the bugs swarming along the path. Walkers and joggers were swatting in front of their faces. I grabbed my sunglasses from the roof of the car. “Goodness, better keep my head down and my mouth closed,” I mumbled.

We arrived at the shop. It was a busy afternoon. Lots of other people were shopping for bikes, and riders were getting their bikes tuned up. We waited while they installed the kickstand and we rolled it out of the store. I fastened my helmet and tucked my phone away. “See ya at the park!” I shouted. 

I rode to our local park and met the boys there.  I rode right into swarm after swarm, hitting my face like raindrops. I didn’t care. I managed to keep my mouth and nose free from bugs. I’ve never felt so blessed to have bugs in my face.

8 Replies to “Day 20→ Gratitude: Bugs in my face”

Leave a comment