Rally Cap

“We can’t just see him one time.” I mutter.

About 6 years ago while my family was vacay’ing here, they came across a great musician. Mario Mena. The year they discovered him was a year I couldn’t go. I heard about Mario all the time throughout the following year. My twin was even a little smitten for him. She bought his music on iTunes and every year since my family looks to see where he will be playing the week we are in Gulf Shores: the Hangout, Pink Pony, and Florabama. We typically see him at least twice.

We arrived in Gulf Shores Saturday morning. Mario was playing at Florabama that night. We laid low and planned on see him Sunday. It’s hard to describe Florabama. If you’ve been there, you know what I mean. There are at least three different areas for live music. I’ve seen Mario perform in all three areas. Signatures, bras, and pictures of artists that have played there line the walls and beams every where.

On Sunday our crew does a lap before we settle into the area that Mario will start playing at in about 30 minutes. As we are perusing the scene and run into Mario. He gives Dad and Brooke a hug. Yes!! My dad is a big fan but he’s more subtle about it. Mario has a Darius Rucker sound to him, and we love singing to every cover song he sings. He’s got some great songs of his own out, too.

Fast forward to today, around 8:15pm. My parents, Charlie, and I are playing the rubber match of our euchre game. The guys end up winning. Lucky. We’ve eaten and everyone is in their comfy clothes.

“I can’t believe we’re only going to have seen Mario once this week. Just doesn’t seem right. He’s prolly going to wonder why you didn’t come back and see him, Dad” I say with a smirk. Mario plays again at Florabama at 10:00. I could fall asleep right now.

“I could find my rally cap.” Dad says back, no real enthusiasm in his voice.

“Shoot, I’ll go in what I’ve got on right now. Just throw on a ball cap and go. Char, you in?” I give him the same look I gave my dad.

“If you go, I’ll go.” Charlie says with a sigh.

“Mom and Auntie! The guys are in! Can we rally?” Now I’m excited.

“You guys go. I’m fine to stay back.” Auntie says. A few minutes later Auntie grabs her shower towel… “Well, I need to shower regardless. So, maybe I’ll find my rally cap while I’m at it.” Oh she’s definitely going.

Of course I’m not really going to wear a ball cap and lounge where. I curl my hair, pick out an outfit, and slap on some makeup. By the time I’ve picked out my putfit, Auntie’s picking out her outfit too.

I peer pressured my entire crew to go see Mario. It’s an easy challenge.

We arrive at Florabama. “One more time!! One more song. Let’s close it out!” my dad cheers!

And now it’s 1:15am. We came, we saw, we rallied. See you next year, Mario!

3 Replies to “Rally Cap”

Leave a comment