Day 26: The Island of Misfit Toys

Sometime between last Easter and the beginning of summer, Charlie took a liking to a small stuffed bunny my gram had given him for Easter. Now, “Buh” accompanies Charlie everywhere. By August, his crew started to grow. In tow, he carries his bunny, moose, and two other small bunnies. His hands were full. 

Around December I was doing some winter cleaning. I found a stuffed dog that hadn’t been touched. I had it at the top of the steps for the Goodwill pile. When Charlie woke up from his nap, he immediately adopted the dog to the rest of the crew. Really? The stuffed animal had sat in the toy bin for months. But now that it had finally made it to the Goodwill pile, Charlie decides he loves it to pieces? A couple weeks later I made a similar mistake. In an effort to continue to weed out the island of misfit toys, I tossed “Sheep” over by the steps. Turns out the steps are the perfect location to showcase a stuffed animal in need of some extra love. Again, Charlie woke up from his afternoon nap and kidnapped Sheep. 

Lesson learned- Goodwill piles will be hidden from now on.

I am not sure Charlie could adopt one more lovie if he tried. His hands are full!

11 Replies to “Day 26: The Island of Misfit Toys”

  1. Ha! I always have to do these things when my little one is asleep or outside playing with dad. They are sneaky little ones that love ALL the things! P.S. Adorable pics! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adorable! This is the norm with kids, the minute you try to get rid of something that’s when they want it. It’s amazing how their little minds will remember the smallest toys and hunt them down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment