Santa’s elf

“Can you do my a favor?” Brooke asks.

“Whatcha need?” I reply. I’ve only been up for 15 minutes. I’m sipping my coffee, and I’m on vacation. And you need me to do you favor? You know I’m not a morning person, right? Give me an hour, or at least another 15 minutes.

“Can you fix my phone?” She asks timidly.

“Sure!” Of all favors, she asked a good one. I like tasks like these, and she knows it.

She hands over the phone with a crack in the corner and a plastic bag with a small shard of glass from the screen. Brooke told me before we left for vacay that she would be bringing her phone for me to fix.

“You have the hands of an elf!” Seriously, she is so witty as clever, and she’s right. I’d be great in Santa’s workshop. I’ve always enjoyed getting the knot out of anything, especially necklaces, and fixing anything anyone else has already tried to fix. Within a few minutes I have the piece back in place. “You’re done already? I tried forever to put that piece back in.”

I hand it back over for her to move on to step 2 of the process. She wants to cover her screen with a phone protector to keep the tiny piece of glass in place. We read the directions and she asks if I want to do it. Well sure I do, but I’ll let her try first if she wants to. Not long after I can tell she’s ready for me to tap in.

Slowly I begin to center the screen protector. I press down in the center and begin smoothing out the bubbles. When I’m almost done, I glance down In my lap to see the small shard of glass. Sometime between centering the screen protector and beginning to smooth it out, the piece fell out. great. “Dang it!” I shout.

“What?”

“Somehow the glass piece fell out.” I respond slightly aggravated.

“That’s okay, Britty. Don’t worry about it.”

Ha! That’s not how I operate. Knowing the package she purchased has an extra back up screen protector, I begin to lift up the protector that I had just smoothed out. I replace the piece of glass and start over. Carefully I make sure the piece of glass stays put as I smooth out the screen protector. Success!

3 Replies to “Santa’s elf”

  1. Not only do you have the hands of an elf, you also have the patience of one! (Are elves patient? I would assume so.) I probably have the skill to tackle these kinds of projects, but no patience.

    I love the way you wrote this – so clear. I watched the whole thing play out in my mind like a movie. So well written!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment